Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

The place to talk about the rules of the system and to get any help with the making of characters etc.

Moderators: Ref, Senior Refs

User avatar
Will
Over 9000!!!!
Posts: 9650
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Exeter, Velmaneth, Azeroth, The Three Kingdoms, Labyrinthia...
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Will » Wed Aug 15, 2012 9:42 pm

All avoidable :)

EDIT: LTP!
Saga 2015 will be entirely celebrating and drinking with nothing bad happening and no bad guys showing up at all ever

Hatsuo1980
Posts: 3997
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: Calne, Wiltshire
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Hatsuo1980 » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:04 pm

Annihilation - move out the way
Total Annihilation - move out the way
40' AOE Total Annihilation - run away
Ashout - don't piss people off/book on no max adventure
............................................................................Image

User avatar
Will
Over 9000!!!!
Posts: 9650
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:51 pm
Location: Exeter, Velmaneth, Azeroth, The Three Kingdoms, Labyrinthia...
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Will » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:34 pm

Eeeeeexactly :)
Saga 2015 will be entirely celebrating and drinking with nothing bad happening and no bad guys showing up at all ever

User avatar
Stevie
Posts: 1088
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: Exeter

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Stevie » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:06 pm

Also, something that came up on Saga, but I didn't have time to address at that point.

Dual Cast
Rank: *
Range: As per spell
Duration: Instant
For double the essence and one soul, the caster can either affect two people simultaneously with a single spell or a single person twice (the target is struck once with the spell and then again a second later)


You can supernatural dodge both casts as they are delayed by a second.

User avatar
Ben
More posts than Nikki
Posts: 6999
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Ben » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:15 pm

True
"And unconscious people always count as willing"

Tome of Magic 6.0

User avatar
Stevie
Posts: 1088
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: Exeter

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Stevie » Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:35 pm

Not a tome of magic errata, but seemed pointless to start a new thread.

Immunity to Information Effects (H)
Base Cost: 5
Description: The character is now immune to information abilities/skills that are not spells (for example Judge Faith, you would reply, No answer!‟)


Sniff/Improved Sniff (People of Velmaneth)
Not listed as an Informational effect. Should it be?

Discern Nature of Wounds/Discern Soul
Listed an informational effects, but could you for instance choose not to apply your immunity on a case by case basis. (I'm sure people have done it for elemental immunities in the past)

User avatar
Ben
More posts than Nikki
Posts: 6999
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Ben » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:07 pm

If you are Immune to Informational Effects (Spells) then you are always immune. The same *should* be the case with all immunities.

There are certain skills that reveal information that aren't classed as information effects: DNW rank 1 for example and Sniff. In these cases there is something physical: DNW rank 1 works by looking at how badly wounded someone is and applying your knowledge, you can't be immune to that. The same with Sniff: you can't conceal your smell from the that level of ability (look at sniffer dogs ability rooting out illegal substances).
"And unconscious people always count as willing"

Tome of Magic 6.0

User avatar
Stevie
Posts: 1088
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: Exeter

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Stevie » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:09 pm

Oh fair enough, I wasn't aware DNW Rank 1 was fine. I guess if someones using a DNW Rank 5 I could still give an answer as if it was a DNW Rank 1 and it'd be ok.

User avatar
Ben
More posts than Nikki
Posts: 6999
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Ben » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:23 pm

Discern Nature of wounds (i) (*)
Base Cost: 3

Rank 1: Allows the character, after a brief 2 second
examination within 5ft, to tell how wounded the
target is, giving the exact number of hits lost to each
location but NOT soul points.

Rank 2 (i): Allows the character to also determine,
vaguely, what is “wrong” with the target (if he‟s
motionally unstable, poisoned, ill or similar). Also
tells maximum number of location hits.

Rank 3 (i): Grants more detailed information on
any malady. Also reveals if any of the wounds that
a victim is suffering from have any special
properties (if they can not be healed or similar).

Rank 4 (i): Can deduce information about a cure to
any given malady (information to be provided by a
referee)


Rank 2+ are (i) but rank 1 isn't: not very clear as (i) is next to the main skill title. But yeah, if someone uses DNW 4 and you are immune, you should still give DNW 1 answers
"And unconscious people always count as willing"

Tome of Magic 6.0

Dellam
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:37 pm
Location: The Acid Theatre

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Dellam » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:28 pm

Also, to clarify, Tracking is not an informational ability? Otherwise Pass Without Trace/Improved PWT become vastly pointless when immunity to informational is much cheaper.

I may have missed it in the rules but this isn't explicitly stated anywhere that i could find
Player of;
Vynrael, the Hound of Asternia
Jaguar, High priest of the Party
Ekrit, Nomad Magic Weapon maker of Yashmanar
Thromlui, Psychomancer, Nightmare made manifest

User avatar
Ben
More posts than Nikki
Posts: 6999
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Ben » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:59 pm

Basically if it doesn't have (i) next to it then it's not an information effect.

Tracking is looking at what you leave behind rather than you so wouldn't be a information effect.
"And unconscious people always count as willing"

Tome of Magic 6.0

User avatar
Stevie
Posts: 1088
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:32 pm
Location: Exeter

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Stevie » Sun Feb 02, 2014 3:51 pm

Casting Stamina question.

Is it only physical damage that will interrupt casting, or will soul damage (from Despair etc) interrupt casting also?

User avatar
Peter Levy
Posts: 1011
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Peter Levy » Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:21 pm

Core Rules (Casting Magic, p13):
If a caster takes any damage whilst casting, they are interrupted and have to start again.


Heroes' Way (Casting Stamina, p 7):
When taking damage whilst casting, may spend a point of Essence to continue without interruption. This must be done for every time the caster is damaged.


i'd carry the word 'any' from the core rules. physical damage, soul damage etc will interrupt.

Another question: does taking hits to your Elemental Shield X interrupt casting, since the caster themself is not damaged?
wording could suggest no, it doesn't.
spirit of the rule (imo) says it should interrupt.

Phil.Priest
Posts: 1151
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Oxford

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Phil.Priest » Mon Feb 03, 2014 11:29 am

I've always believed that damage to shielding will interrupt casting / med etc...

Avoidance (dex) is another matter completely :)
Kalist, Hope-Bringer, The Emissary of Hope
Lazar, God of Darkness
D'arvan Weyoun of House Aerielys
"Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do"

Hatsuo1980
Posts: 3997
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:50 pm
Location: Calne, Wiltshire
Contact:

Re: Tome of Magic (Spell Grimoire) - Errata Requests

Postby Hatsuo1980 » Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:37 pm

Isn't clear in the rules. Does being a specialist grant:

1 - 1 point reduction to casting spells of your specialist sphere. 1 point increase in casting all other spells

2 - the specialist perk of your sphere

3 - both 1 and 2

4 - a choice of 1 or 2

5 - something else
............................................................................Image


Return to “HoP Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest